Uncategorized

Alaska Turns 8!

This past Monday we not only celebrated International Women’s Day but also Alaska’s 8th birthday. I can honestly say that the past 8 years flew by and I can’t believe the puppy I brought home is now approaching her senior years. 

We celebrated the day before on Sunday Funday with a beautiful sunset hike at Chelsea Mansion. It was a new destination for us and we arrived just in time before sunset so we could enjoy the nature preserve off-leash and undisturbed. Alaska had a blast sniffing horse tracks (and poop) in the mud and practicing recall with lots of tasty treats. 

On the day of her birthday, I made her a cake with Spot & Tango cooked dog food, Sundays air-dried dog food, A Better Treat freeze-dried salmon chunks, and a cracked raw egg. Conveniently, this cake became her regular meals for the rest of the week. Needless to say, Alaska impatiently held her pose perfectly for the two minute photo session (see below) and voraciously devoured her birthday cake. 

An open letter to my forever heart dog:

Dear Alaska,

You are the light of my life. I have never felt a love like the one you give me every moment of every day. You are my best friend, my peace, my motivation, my reason to smile, my everything. I am so thankful that you chose me to be your mom, leader, and companion. You have taught me so many virtues such as being patient and kind, staying active, and most importantly, how to love wholeheartedly and unconditionally. My only wish is for you to stay healthy and live as long as God is willing. I love you so much. 

Time is the one thing we can never get back, so my advice for other pet parents is to cherish every moment with your furry companions and never take your time together for granted. Thanks for reading, and Happy March!

Leave a comment