Product Reviews · Small Business Spotlight · Uncategorized

Small Business Spotlight: The Black Nose Co.

About

“My business all started when I got married, my husband got me a cute little (big) furball. I instantly became a “dog mom.” I’ve always sewn, since a very young age. My grandma even passed me down her sewing machine. I enjoyed it, and began making my German shepherd wear them when I was living by myself while my husband was deployed- just passing the time away. I never started selling them right away, but once people started to ask me where I got his bandanas, I decided I would share them with everyone and their pups!” – Hunter Lang, The Black Nose Co.

What do you enjoy most about the process?

Almost all the fabrics I choose are not from your everyday big chain craft store. I do a lot of research to find high quality original fabrics that can speak to your pup’s personality and bring out their character! I’m also an avid custom order maker, I love trying to find what someone has in mind!

Tell me more about your products.

The slip on bandana style I chose to work with took multiple tries and different sizes to get it just right. I like this style of bandana because you can keep your dogs collar, bandana, and ID tag all together. I also use a training collar & I know many use a harness, so I love the fact you can fit everything on them without getting too crowded and heavy looking. I mainly make dog bandanas, but I also make baby blankets, throws, quilts and bandana bibs.

What is your favorite part about this business?

Nothing brings me more joy than seeing customer photos and for the customers that have been with me since the beginning and continue to help us grow. Each bandana is shipped out quickly, normally within 1-3 days via USPS. I care about customer service, because who really wants to wait a week or two for something?

Our Review

We received a lovely reversible bandana from The Black Nose Co., however, it did not last long enough for a second use because I must have misplaced it when moving Alaska’s belongings from one room to another. I haven’t had any luck finding it since, and I’m still very disappointed in its disappearing.

But on a good note, I got a couple of pictures of Alaska modeling the bandana so I can still tell you all about it. I chose a reversible bandana featuring a mustard yellow poppy print on one side and a unique black and white pattern on the other.

20160322_114534

The sizing was perfect for Alaska and it slid onto her collar seamlessly. What I like about slip on bandanas (over-the-collar) versus traditional tie-on bandanas is that they don’t leave an unsightly bulge around the dog’s neck. This style is very fashion-forward, but may sometimes be a hassle to get on and off the collar. Furthermore, both sides of the bandana coexisted peacefully despite being very different from one another. With one side facing outwards, the other was concealed and no one could ever tell it was reversible. The 2 prints were sewn together without any evidence that they were 2 distinct fabrics.

20160322_114411
Alaska – sleepy and bored during a quick photo session

At the same time, the material and bandana were lightweight and could be folded into a little piece of cloth. My only critique of the reversible design is that it doesn’t do well with a slip on bandana because I find it to be quite some work to take the bandana on and off. Otherwise, Alaska’s bandana from The Black Nose Co. is very well-made, and Hunter does a fantastic job of adding unique and stylish prints into her shop collection.

Sniff ‘em out on Social Media

Instagram: @theblacknoseco (business) page

@hunternlang (personal)

@noahthegermanshepherd (dog)

 

Leave a Reply

