Product Reviews · Uncategorized

Yo Dog Snackery

Yo Dog Snackery is a Texas-based startup selling nutritious and delicious dog treats. Worthy of asking, has anyone heard of dog beer? Well I haven’t heard of such a thing before I discovered Yo Dog Snackery. I was pleasantly surprised at this novel creation that the team has put to market. I was so intrigued that I had to have Alaska try some out, and I’m so glad I did!

Screen Shot 2016-07-10 at 11.21.53 PM

About

“HERE AT YODOG SNACKERY, WE BELIEVE IN HANDCRAFTING QUALITY DOG TREATS. EACH BATCH OF YODOG BEER IS MADE FROM SCRATCH USING LOCAL TEXAS INGREDIENTS TO ENSURE FRESHNESS! AFTER WE BREW OUR BEER, THE MEAT FROM THE STOCK GETS BAKED INTO CRUNCHY JERKY THAT DOGS LOVE! THIS IN TURN REDUCES OUR ENVIRONMENTAL FOOTPRINT. ALONG WITH CUTTING BACK ON WASTE, WE ENCOURAGE THAT THE BOTTLES BE REUSED, OR THAT YOU FIND US AT YOUR LOCAL AUSTIN PET STORES FOR $1.50 OFF YOUR NEXT BOTTLE. PS.. AS A THANK YOU TO THE COMMUNITY,  WE DONATE 10% OF OUR SALES TO LOCAL RESCUES.” – Yo Dog Snackery

Our Review

20160308_121558

You may remember seeing Yo Dog Snackery dog beer making its first appearance in Alaska’s 3rd birthday celebration.  We whipped out this special treat especially for her special day, and we saved the treats for a later date. Alaska had the pleasure of taste testing the dog beer in beef and chicken, as well as beef and chicken dog treats. These treats are baked from the same meat used in brewing the dog beer. I commend Yo Dog Snackery for its inventiveness in creating dog treats that are not your typical run-of-the-mill. Additionally, they waste nothing in production.

20160308_112142

During Alaska’s birthday celebration, I allowed her to indulge in both the Spaniel Adams (beef) and Pups Blue Ribbon (chicken) dog beers. Made with local chicken or beef, nutritious herbs and malted barley, these dog beers not only remind me of bone broth that I regularly brew for Alaska but also have that fresh smell of soup. It was her first time ever trying a beverage with malted barley, so I was quite surprised by how well she took to it. I poured a serving into Alaska’s dish and she happily lapped it up without hesitation. However, she enjoyed the beef flavor more than the chicken.

20160218_150634

I love that the beers are stored in glass bottles that are airtight even once opened. They are easily stored in the refrigerator for 1 week upon opening. One bottle lasted Alaska more than 2 weeks, so they’re perfect for sharing with other furry friends. Take a bottle with you to the dog park and you will be the most loved human! Serve some up on one hot summer day and all the pups will thank you in slobbery wet kisses.

20160517_124029

Now on to the treats: oh boy, did Alaska go wild for these nom noms! The Chicken Apple Rollupss are just what they sound like: dehydrated strips of chicken breast wrapped around sliced pieces of fresh Fuji apple. Each treat is only the size of a quarter, so don’t feel guilty treating several at a time. These are definitely high-value treats for Alaska. When the bag comes out, her eyes widen and she’s hypnotized. If I stall too long in giving her one, drool drips from her lips and she gives me an impatient whine, telling me to HURRY UP! 🙂

20160628_155631

Both beef and chicken were a hit, and what I love about these treats is that they are made of only 2 simple ingredients: chicken and apple or beef and apple. They truly smell heavenly and I can only imagine that they taste like a doggie version of a chicken & apple salad. These little bites are crunchy yet not hard to chew. Heck, they were gone in 1 bite from Alaska. One bag barely lasted a week, and I’m happy to say that I will be ordering more of these tasty treats in the near future! I highly recommend Yo Dog Snackery – this small Texas business has a lot of potential to gain the hearts and appetites of both humans and pups everywhere. I love their simple yet unique products and they really stand out in my mind as one of Alaska’s top favorite snacks.

20160628_155616

Check out their online store to pick up some nutritious & delicious dog beer and treats for your pup!

Leave a Reply

