Favorite Things · Nutrition · Product Reviews · Uncategorized

Zesty Paws Salmon Oil for Dogs & Cats


Fish oil has always been an important element in Alaska’s diet. As a double-coated breed, Alaska is prone to fur dullness, itchiness, and mats. Therefore, her skin and coat is a priority for me to keep clean and healthy. Before I changed her diet to raw whole foods, Alaska was constantly itchy – scratching and biting her skin raw. She would pull out her own fur and bite her skin to relieve the itchiness caused by her processed, unhealthy diet. As I looked more into proper species-appropriate nutrition for her, I made the decision that fish oil was something I could easily incorporate into her diet to optimize her skin and coat.

About

Zesty Paws was established in Florida by a dedicated team of passionate pet lovers that sought to provide safe, affordable, and high-quality pet care products to keep their tails wagging happily for a long time. Specializing in dog and cat care, their growing catalog of products are a result of intensive research to formulate highly effective pet supplements and domestic products to help better the well-being of our beloved four-legged friends.

20160520_163330

Zesty Paws Salmon Oil is an all-natural dietary supplement derived from wild Alaskan salmon. Jam-packed with powerful Omega-3 and Omega-6 fatty acids, Salmon Oil delivers premium nourishment to dogs and cats of all sizes. Salmon Oil contains a bounty of EPA and DHA, which are healthy Omega-3 fats that provide natural nutrients for their skin, coat and body. These essential fatty acids help to support proper joint function, heart health and skin/coat condition, as well as enhancing the immune system to keep your four-legged friend healthier, happier and zestier for life.

Our Review

I was eager to accept this review opportunity from Zesty Paws because I love when I learn about new pet companies specializing in better nutrition for our four-legged family members. Because fish oil has always been a part of Alaska’s diet, I knew that she would take to this product immediately. The liquid is a deep orange color, and it smells quite fresh from the 16 ounce bottle that we received. Feeding and dosage instructions are clearly labeled on the back. It also came with a pump to allow easier administration.

To test this product, I gave Alaska 1 full pump with each meal on top of her food for 2 weeks. She ate her food with excitement as always and licked her bowl clean. Not only do I know that the Salmon Oil is tasty, but also that it helps with her skin and coat. Her fur is soft and shiny, and she is no longer self-mutilating due to chronic itchiness. This change is the direct result of her transition to raw food as well as the addition of supplements I add to her diet.

20151112_153818
Always eager for food – balancing on 3 legs on the table where I put her food bowl

Adding Zesty Paws Salmon Oil to the mix allowed me to continue what I’ve been doing to provide the best nutrition for Alaska. I believe fish oil can help any dog alleviate food and/or environmental allergies, skin problems, and fur dullness, and it is a dietary supplement that I recommend to many. I also feed Alaska whole raw oily fish such as sardines, smelt, and salmon as a healthy supplement to her raw diet. On these occasions, I will withdraw fish oil from her meals.

20160115_165543
An example of Alaska’s meal with 1 pump of Salmon Oil added

Further Thoughts

I’ve only recently started adding this into my cat Oreo’s food, and he also seems to enjoy this addition. The fishy smell appeals to him and he eats his meals without a problem. If I continue to give Oreo Salmon Oil, I think that the benefits will be more striking because he’s never been given fish oil before as he gets a lot of fish treats and food with fish in it. His fur isn’t as soft and shiny as Alaska’s because he doesn’t get regular baths and doesn’t have as healthy of a diet. I think that adding Zesty Paws Salmon Oil to his regular diet will do him good for his skin, coat, eyes, joints, and heart. While I like what Zesty Paws Salmon Oil is doing for my pets, I would like some more information on the quality of the oil – specifically where the salmon is sourced and how the oil is processed. While many people may be concerned about the levels of mercury in fish oil, wild salmon have some of the lowest mercury levels of any commercial species. This advantage is a function of their diets, short life spans, and pristine environment. Zesty Paws also claims that its Salmon Oil contains the finest high-grade ingredients around, and is made in an FDA-registered and GMP certified facility in the USA.

Where to Buy

If you are interested in adding this powerful dietary supplement into your pets’ food, look no further than pure salmon oil from Zesty Paws! Fetch some on www.zestypaws.com or on Amazon.

 

 

20151130_160349
“There’s nothing fishy about keeping yourself healthy inside & out with all-natural fish oil!”

*Disclaimer: I received this complimentary product in exchange for my honest review. All the opinions stated here are my own and were not influenced/endorsed in any way. 

4 thoughts on “Zesty Paws Salmon Oil for Dogs & Cats

    1. You’re so welcome! Glad I can be of help – Oreo will kill me before he’ll step foot in the bath tub so adding fish oil to his food keeps me sane that I’m doing something good for his skin and coat 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

